Get hired but don’t get burned.

It is incredibly difficult to find a good place to work. With companies that fire women after they announce that they’re pregnant, intimidate women into leaving, hire people who think it’s ok to compare women to programming tools, and have abysmally low diversity numbers (although at 10% women in tech, I am no longer surprised by Twitter’s terrible block policy), it’s surprisingly easy to end up working in a toxic environment.

How do you sniff out culture smells and determine if a company’s work environment will be toxic to you? A large part of this depends on what you expect for your work environment, but there are a few questions you can use to screen companies.

Whilst this is written by an engineer primarily for engineers, these questions and techniques are incredibly useful for any employee, at any company. You should, of course, pick and choose the things that matter to you most when interviewing.

Diversity

Don’t beat around the bush. Ask. If they don’t like the questions, then you don’t want to work there.

Things to look out for

Do they value employees?

Questions

Things to look out for

Human Resources

Questions

note: I know I am currently working in the UK, but since I have spent most of my engineering career in the US (my home country) I am pretty much only familiar with US laws, please check back- as I am learning as I go.

Things to look out for

Look for HR anti patterns. This is the most important thing you can do - I have no other advice for you here except that you read that article.

Additional reading

 
7
Kudos
 
7
Kudos

Now read this

Deploying Rails w/Resque to Heroku

Originally published May 2014 The Heroku guides for deploying Rails apps encourage you to do so using a Procfile and Unicorn. Not being super deployment savvy, I tend to follow the instructions provided to me. … that is, until they... Continue →